HomeDiocesan ReportsPhotos: Way of the Cross in Calapan

Photos: Way of the Cross in Calapan

Catholics at St. Francis of Assisi Quasi Parish in the Apostolic Vicariate of Calapan commemorated the Passion of Jesus Christ through the Way of the Cross.

The Way of the Cross, also known as the Stations of the Cross, Via Crucis, and Via Dolorosa, is a Christian devotional practice that commemorates the Passion of Jesus Christ, focusing on his final hours and crucifixion.

It originated from the early Christian pilgrims’ practice of retracing Jesus’ path in Jerusalem leading up to his crucifixion on Calvary. The tradition has evolved over centuries, allowing Christians worldwide to spiritually walk with Jesus during his suffering and death through prayer and meditation.

The Way of the Cross consists of 14 stations, each representing specific events from Jesus’ condemnation by Pontius Pilate to his burial. These stations are typically marked by crosses, pictures, or statues within a church, along a path, or in a prayer garden.

Devotees move from one station to the next, offering prayers and reflecting on the suffering of Christ and its significance for their faith. The specific stations and their order can vary slightly between different Christian traditions, but they generally include the following events:

  1. Jesus is condemned to death.
  2. Jesus carries his cross.
  3. Jesus falls the first time.
  4. Jesus meets his mother, Mary.
  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the cross.
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.
  7. Jesus falls the second time.
  8. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem.
  9. Jesus falls the third time.
  10. Jesus is stripped of his garments.
  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross.
  12. Jesus dies on the cross.
  13. Jesus is taken down from the cross.
  14. Jesus is laid in the tomb.

The Way of the Cross is particularly observed during the season of Lent, especially on Good Friday, but many engage in this devotion throughout the year. It serves as a profound contemplative exercise to deepen one’s understanding of Jesus’ sacrificial love and to reflect on one’s own life and relationship with God.

Photos by Fr. Edwin “Edu” Gariguez/Apostolic Vicariate of Calapan

- Newsletter -

© Copyright LiCAS.news. All rights reserved. Republication of this article without express permission from LiCAS.news is strictly prohibited. For republication rights, please contact us at: [email protected]

Support LiCAS.news

We work tirelessly each day to tell the stories of those living on the fringe of society in Asia and how the Church in all its forms - be it lay, religious or priests - carries out its mission to support those in need, the neglected and the voiceless.
We need your help to continue our work each day. Make a difference and donate today.